Search results

Carolina Rito

Carolina Rito is Professor of Creative Practice Research, at the Research Centre for Arts, Memory and Communities (CAMC) at Coventry University; and chair of the Critical Practices research strand. Carolina is founding editor of The Contemporary Journal and editor of the On Translations and Critical Pedagogies issues. From 2017 to 2019, she was Head of Public Programmes and Research at Nottingham Contemporary, leading the institution’s research strategy with Nottingham Trent University and University of Nottingham. Rito is Executive Board Member of the Midlands Higher Education & Culture Forum (MHECF); Research Fellow at the Institute of Contemporary History (IHC), Universidade NOVA de Lisboa; and founder and chair of the Collaborative Research Working Group of MHECF. Rito co-edited Institution as Praxis – New Curatorial Directions for Collaborative Research (Sternberg, 2020), Architectures of Education (e-flux Architecture, 2020), and FABRICATING PUBLICS: the dissemination of culture in the post-truth era (Open Humanities Press, in press).


Critical Pedagogies: The Learning Collective in the Awakening of the COVID-19 Pandemic

Carolina Rito

This text reflects upon the Critical Pedagogies programme at Nottingham Contemporary and the challenges that the awakening of the COVID-19 outbreak poses to education. In this text, the programme’s curator Carolina Rito delves into the neoliberalisation of educational institutions and how this process is transforming our learning experience – within and outside academia.


Nick Axel Bill Balaskas Nikolaus Hirsch Sofia Lemos Carolina Rito

Architectures of Education is a collaboration between Nottingham Contemporary, Kingston University, and e-flux Architecture, and a cross-publication with The Contemporary Journal.​ Drawing on a three-day public programme at Nottingham Contemporary on November 7–9, 2019, the series features contributions by Ramon Amaro, Aoife Donnelly and Kristin Trommler, Gudskul, Elain Harwood, Tom Holert, Lesley Lokko, Sol Perez-Martinez, Irit Rogoff, Santhosh S., and more.